Jamaican “Beef” Patties


Coming from a Jamaican background, many times my palate craves the blended flavors of curry. So I veganized one of my favorite treats, Jamaican Beef Patties.  These are kind of similar to Mexican empinadas, but spicy 😛 I was kind of skeptical at first, but you can not tell the difference…it’s all about the seasoning when it comes down to it. It’s DELISH!!

Pastry

  • 1 lb. flour, sifted
  • 1/2 C. ice cold water
  • 1/2 C. vegan margarine melted
  • 1/2 C. shortening
  • 1tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. curry powder
  • 1 tsp. tumeric

Filling

  • 3 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 1-12 oz. Package of Smart Ground (or your favorite vegan ground beef)
  • 1 medium onion finely chopped
  • 4 scallions chopped
  • 2 tsp. ground thyme
  • 1/2 C. breadcrumbs
  • 1 scotch bonnet pepper finely chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 C. water
  • 1 tsp. salt (or salt to taste)
  • 1 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 tsp. paprika
  • 1/2 tsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg

In a large bowl mix together sifted flour, baking powder, curry, salt, and turmeric.  Work in the margarine and the shortening with hands until dough resembles a bread crumbly texture. Slowly pour water into the mixture until the mixture has a dough-like consistency(slightly sticky). Roll dough into a ball and wrap in plastic wrap. refrigerate for an hour.

Heat oil and sauté onions and scallions just enough so that they don’t brown. Add Smart Ground, thyme, garlic scotch bonnet pepper, salt, pepper, paprika, sugar, and nutmeg. Cook until ingredients are well incorporated. Add water and Breadcrumbs, mix and cook until incorporated.

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. Remove dough  from refrigerator and remove plastic wrap. Seperate dough into 14 small balls and roll out each ball on a floured surface to the size of a saucer. Scoop 1 Tbsp. of filling on one side of each pastry.

Moisten edges of pastry with water and fold pastry over to make a crescent shape. Seal the edge of patty with a fork. Place patties on cookie sheet lined with foil.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.

Jamaican “Beef” Patties

33 thoughts on “Jamaican “Beef” Patties

  1. My son used to have me buy these frozen for him. Now that he is older, I will pass along the recipe so he can make some from scratch! Thanks for the recipe.

  2. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  3. Making this at home is great than buying ready to eat empanadas. I will surely try this at home coz it looks yummy! My kids will crave for this! Thanks

  4. I just love this!This looks like a wonderful recipe.I’m making this soon.If you wont mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to this post.Just add the foodista widget to the end of this post and it’s all set.

  5. Thanks for the pastry recipe but the dough can also be made in a food processor by mixing the flour, butter and salt in the bowl of the processor on a pulse setting.

  6. Very tasty & toasty! These are a really good option for a simple meal or snack on chilly days. The dough ended up being bit greasy for my taste, but I loved the spicy flavor.

  7. I never tried to make my own and I think its my time to try this one. I like it more when its spicy. I am so excited to try this one..Thank you! Keep on posting more recipes.

  8. I’m cooking dinner tonight and I really would like to make Jamaican Beef Patties. Well, my mom absolutely hates the spice curry. If I don’t add the curry will it affect the recipe?

    1. It will lose a little bit of the flavoring. But with the blend with other spices you can’t really taste the curry as much. I would 1/2 the curry and add an additional 1/2 tsp turmeric OR add an additional 1 tsp of turmeric in place of the curry.

  9. Thanks for taking the time to share this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If possible, as you gain knowledge, would you mind updating your blog with more information? It is extremely helpful for me.

  10. Greetings I should write you a fast note to express my thankfulness. Ive been actively your website for a month or so and already have gained a considerable of good information and really enjoyed the approach you’ve adopted to structure this website. I’m trying to operate my own blog although I imagine it has always been overly general and I ought to give my attention to various less significant matters. Attempting to be all things to all people seriously is not everything that its cracked up to be.

  11. Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your
    weblog and wished to say that I have truly loved surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing for your rss feed and I’m hoping you write once more
    soon!

Leave a Reply

